St. Mary

the cajun coast

Created in 1811, St. Mary Parish was originally part of the Attakapas District and St. Martin Parish. In the midst of French culture, exploration, and settlement during the late eighteenth century, St. Mary bears the distinction of being a primarily Anglo-Protestant settlement in the midst of French-Catholic Acadiana. Their dominance in the region is evident in the non-French towns of Franklin, Baldwin, and Patterson.

St. Mary Parish, Map of Acadiana, Louisiana